jump to navigation

Not an auspicious start for Guardian America October 24, 2007

Posted by Peter Hornby in currentaffairs.
trackback

Brad DeLong mentioned the debut of Guardian America.  Well, I used to read the Guardian every day during the fifteen years or so I was working in the UK.  I subscribed to the Guardian Weekly as soon as I moved to the US, and use the Guardian website as a primary source of news, just behind the BBC.  So I was over there like a shot.

Given my location in Orange County, California, some 18.000 acres of which is currently on fire,  I scanned the front page for their story about the fires. 

I’m sorry.  I really did not want to see something under the headline “Stars remain stranded as California fires move inland”.  There’s a sub-editor somewhere who urgently needs to return to his natural home in the tabloid press.

We’ll see how this goes.  I’m hoping for great things.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

